Swiss Confirmed Final 23 Squad for Euro 2016

Swiss become one of the latest national sides that have confirmed their final 23 men squad for upcoming Euro 2016 tournament in France this June.

Among the names being selected by head coach, Vladimir Petkovic, doesn’t leave out big names such as Granit Xhaka and Xherdan Shaqiri.

However, there will be no Philippe Senderos and Silvan Widmer on that 23 list as both of them were eventually committed by Petkovic.

The slight surprise in terms of call up is Nico Elvedi’s inclusion, who only had one cap with Swiss national side before going to Euro.

It’s a rare sights seeing such a young player, who lacks international experience to get himself call up in big tournaments, without even participating during qualification stage.

However, Petkovic explained his reasoning in picking Elvedi, stating that the Borussia Moenchengladbach’s man is versatile and able to handle any pressure.

Here is Swiss’ 23 final men squad for Euro 2016:
Goalkeepers: Roman Bürki (Dortmund), Marwin Hitz (Augsburg), Yann Sommer (Mönchengladbach).

Defenders: Johan Djourou (Hamburg), Nico Elvedi (Mönchengladbach), Michael Lang (Basel), Stephan Lichtsteiner (Juventus), François Moubandje (Toulouse), Ricardo Rodríguez (Wolfsburg), Fabian Schär (Hoffenheim), Steve von Bergen (Young Boys).
Midfielders: Valon Behrami (Watford), Blerim Dzemaili (Genoa), Gelson Fernandes (Rennes), Fabian Frei (Mainz), Xherdan Shaqiri (Stoke City), Granit Xhaka (Mönchengladbach), Denis Zakaria (Young Boys).

Forwards: Eren Derdiyok (Kasımpaşa), Admir Mehmedi (Leverkusen), Breel Embolo (Basel), Haris Seferovic (Frankfurt), Shani Tarashaj (Grasshoppers).