Quaresma Left Out of Portugal’s Final 23

Disappointing news arrived for FC Porto winger, Ricardo Quaresma as his dream to play in upcoming World Cup 2014 seemingly shattered as Portugal national team head coach, Paulo Bento has decided to left out the former Barcelona player from the 23-men squad.

Already reaching his 30s, this 2014 could very well be Quaresma’s last chance to play in the World Cup, that’s why being left out from that potentially final squad is definitely a disappointing situation for the Porto man.

Although Quaresma’s performance hasn’t been at the highest standard recently, but the fact that Bento even called up Nani, who has been troubled with injury this season at Manchester United, could raise some questions from some people.

Aside from Quaresma, there are no other renown names that Bento left out from his final 23-men squad, giving more bitter feeling for the ex-Inter Milan player.

However, the tactician’s decision might not be that much of concern for Portugal fans as they acknowledge that the main man for European Selecao for upcoming World Cup is still Cristiano Ronaldo.

Moreover, fans will even consider the likes of Pepe at the back along with Joao Moutinho will have a much bigger role help out Ronaldo instead of Quaresma, who hasn’t been putting on a commanding performance for the national team throughout this years.

Here is Portugal’s 23-players squad for World Cup 2014:
Goalkeepers: Rui Patricio (Sporting), Beto (Sevilla/ESP), Eduardo (Braga)

Defenders: Andre Almeida (Benfica), Bruno Alves (Fenerbahce/TUR), Fabio Coentrao (Real Madrid/ESP), Joao Pereira (Valencia/ESP), Neto (Zenit St. Petersburg/RUS), Pepe (Real Madrid/ESP), Ricardo Costa (Valencia/ESP)

Midfielders: Joao Moutinho (Monaco/FRA), Miguel Veloso (Dynamo Kiev/UKR), Raul Meireles (Fenerbahce/TUR), Ruben Amorim (Benfica), William Carvalho (Sporting)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/ESP), Eder (Braga), Helder Postiga (Lazio/ITA), Hugo Almeida (Besiktas/TUR), Nani (Manchester United/ENG), Rafa (Braga), Varela (FC Porto), Vieirinha (Wolfsburg/GER)