World Cup finalists Spain led the way with three Fifa Golden Ball nominations on Friday.
Golden Boot contender David Villa, as well as midfielders Xavi and Andres Iniesta, were among 10 players in contention for the prize given to the best player at the World Cup.
Germany, with Mesut Oezil and Bastian Schweinsteiger, and the Netherlands, with Wesley Sneijder and Arjen Robben, had two apiece, while Diego Forlan (Uruguay),
Asamoah Gyan (Ghana) and Lionel Messi (Argentina), were the others picked.
The shortlist was drawn up by Fifa’s Technical Study Group, whose members include Kalusha Bwalya, Christian Karembeu, Jomo Sono and Gérard Houllier.
Journalists and other media representatives will now vote to decide the winner.
Previous winners include Paolo Rossi (1982), Diego Maradona (1986), Salvatore Schillaci (1990), Romario (1994), Ronaldo (1998), Oliver Kahn (2002) and Zinedine Zidane (2006).
2010’s winner will be announced after Sunday’s World Cup final between Spain and the Netherlands.

Tags: , ,

National Team WC 2010 WC2010 news