Holland made it three wins out of three with a hard fought 2-1 win over Cameroon who, with this result, end the tournament bottom of Group E.
Cameroon: 1 Holland: 2
Venue: Green Point Stadium, Cape Town
Crowd: 63,093
Officials Referee: Pablo Pozo (Chile)
Assistants: Patricio Basualto and Francisco Mondria (both Chile)
Fourth official: Khalil Al Ghamdi (Saudi Arabia)
Yellow cards: CAM – N’Koulou, M’bia HOL – Kuyt, Van Bronckhorst, Van der Vaart
Red cards: none
Cameroon have lost all three of their group games and tonight’s defeat to Holland was slightly harsh, but it is an ominous sign that the Dutch have won three games so far without really hitting their stride. Apart from the result the other plus for the Oranje was the form of Arjen Robben who looked impressive in his 17 minute cameo as a substitute. Klaas-Jan Huntelaar’s late winner helped the Netherlands maintain their 100% record at the 2010 World Cup and set up a clash with Slovakia in Round Two.
Holland took the lead in the first half after gradually building up a head of steam. Robin van Persie and Rafael van der Vaart exchanged passes ending with the Arsenal striker firing home from 12 yards.
Cameroon grabbed a leveller from the penalty spot after Van der Vaart was adjudged to have handled Geremi Njitap’s free kick. Samuel Eto’o went for power and slammed the ball past Maarten Stekelenburg.
Then just as it seemed the Indomitable Lions would hang on for their first point of the tournament the Netherlands grabbed the winner. Robben’s shot rebounded off the post and Huntelaar was alert to fire into an empty net and extend the Oranje unbeaten sequence to 22 games.
Starting Line-Ups:
16. Souleymanou Hamidou, 8. Geremi Njitap, 19. Stephane M’bia Etoundi, 3. Nicolas N’Koulou (R Song, 73), 2. Benoit Assou-Ekotto, 11. Jean Makoun, 6. Alex Song, 7. Landry N’Guemo, 12. Gaetan Bong (Aboubakar, 56), 9. Samuel Eto’o, 13. Eric Choupo-Moting (Idrissou, 72)
1. Maarten Stekelenburg, 12. Khalid Boulahrouz, 3. Johnny Heitinga, 4. Joris Mathijsen, 5. Giovanni Van Bronckhorst, 7. Dirk Kuyt (Elia, 67), 6. Mark Van Bommel, 8. Nigel De Jong, 23. Rafael Van der Vaart (Robben, 73), 10. Wesley Sneijder, 9. Robin van Persie (Huntelaar, 58)

Tags: , ,

Cameroon National Team Netherlands WC2010 news