Olympique Lyonnais (popularly known as OL, or simply Lyon) is a French football club based in Lyon. They play in Ligue 1 and are the reigning champions of France, for the sixth time running. Lyon have won six Trophées des Champions, three Ligue 2 Championships and Coupe de France titles as well as seven participations in the UEFA Champions League, despite not taking part in a final, or a semi-final. Olympique Lyonnais play their home matches at the 43,051 seater Stade de Gerland, Lyon. OL are also a member of the G14 group of leading European football clubs. Lyon was formed as Lyon Olympique Universitaire in 1899, according to many supporters and sport historians but was nationally established as a club on 3 August 1950. The club also has a women’s football team with several international players in it.


Tags: , , , , ,