Nainggolan Not Called Up for Belgium World Cup Squad

A disappointing news arrived for AS Roma midfielder, Radja Nainggolan as his dream to participate in upcoming World Cup 2018 with Belgium vanished.

The former Cagliari player has officially been left out of Red Devils’ temporary 28 men squad for Russia as head coach, Roberto Martinez claimed that Nainggolan won’t fit in his tactical setup.

According to Martinez, his decision in leaving the 30-year-old is purely for tactical reasoning and not because of any personal reasons.

Certainly a disappointing situation for Nainggolan as considering his age, this could possibly his last shot in playing another World Cup for Belgium.

Moreover, following this snub, the hard working midfielder pretty consider his international career with the Red Devils is done.

From now on, Nainggolan will mostly focus on his club career, though will remain as his national team number one fan.

Apart from the veteran midfielder, there’s doesn’t seem to be another big names being left out from the possible 23-men squad as top players such as Eden Hazard, Dries Mertens, Kevin De Bruyne, Jan Vertonghen and others are all called up.

Knowing that there’s still 28 players being considered, there will be five more names who won’t make that final cut.

However, not even getting into that 28 names pretty much means that Nainggolan won’t even be considered as potential injury replacement for Belgium’s final world cup squad.

Belgium 28 Men Squad for World Cup 2018:

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Koen Casteels (Wolfsburg), Matz Sels (Newcastle United)

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Laurent Ciman (LAFC), Leander Dendoncker (Anderlecht), Christian Kabasele (Watford), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Jordan Lukaku (Lazio), Thomas Meunier (Paris Saint-Germain), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Yannick Carrasco (Dalian Yifang), Nacer Chadli (West Bromwich Albion), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham Hotspur), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Adnan Januzaj (Real Sociedad), Youri Tielemans (Monaco), Axel Witsel (Tianjin Quanjian)

Attackers: Michy Batshuayi (Chelsea), Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Monchengladbach), Romelu Lukaku (Manchester United), Dries Mertens (Napoli)